Group Therapy

Group Therapy

I have experienced both group therapy and individual therapy and have found them both quite useful. Most recently I have been in group therapy for the past 2 and a half years. The method we use is called Psychodrama. There are pro’s and con’s to group therapy. Obviously the support aspect of belonging to a group is really helpful and for someone like myself that tends to be quite isolated having that support and sense of community is so important. It can be very confronting as certain members of the group will trigger certain traumas from the past. But in the long run this is for the best because it enables you to work through your past traumas and eventually release them. I’ve grown quite a lot since being in group. I’ve processed a lot of grief, sadness, and anger that I had stored in my body for years. In general I feel a lot lighter these days and more spiritually connected. A lot of that is due to the work I have done in group therapy. It’s not an easy road because every week I go to group I’m confronted with my fears just by simply being in a group setting. Group therapy isn’t exactly ideal for someone who has Social Anxiety. It’s really challenging but through that challenge comes great rewards. I’m committed to my own personal development and hope to keep delving into my past traumas so I may eventually be free of them.

It’s really difficult work but as the great Carl Jung said, “One does not become enlightened by imagining figures of light, but by making the darkness conscious”.

Image credit

Leave a comment